Top Universities in Nigeria

What are the most well-known top universities in Nigeria? Nigerian University Ranking, which includes 160 Nigerian higher-education institutions offering at least four-year undergraduate degrees (bachelor degrees) or postgraduate degrees (master or doctoral degrees) delivered primarily in a traditional, face-to-face, non-distance education format and being chartered, licensed, or accredited by the appropriate Nigerian higher education-related organization.

Nigeria is divided into 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria (FCT). The oil boom years of the 1970s resulted in the expansion of tertiary education to every sub-region of Nigeria. Previously, the federal and state governments were the only entities authorized to operate universities. Individuals, corporations, and religious organizations have recently been awarded permission to open private universities in the country.

Read Application Requirements for Masters Program at the University of Ibadan

The National Universities Commission (NUC) is Nigeria’s main accreditation and regulatory authority, enforcing consistent standards and determining the admissions capacity of all top universities in Nigeria.

Here is a list of top universities in Nigeria based on authenticity, unbiased, and non-influenceable web metrics provided by independent web intelligence sources rather than data contributed by the universities themselves.


University Town
1 University of Lagos Lagos
2 University of Nigeria Nsukka
3 University of Ibadan Ibadan
4 Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife
5 University of Port Harcourt Port Harcourt
6 University of Ilorin Ilorin
7 Covenant University Ota
8 Ahmadu Bello University Zaria
9 Federal University of Technology, Akure Akure
10 Rivers State University Port Harcourt
11 Adekunle Ajasin University Akungba Akoko
12 Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta Abeokuta
13 Landmark University Omu-Aran
14 Afe Babalola University Ado-Ekiti
15 University of Benin Benin City
16 American University of Nigeria Yola
17 Taraba State University Jalingo
18 Ladoke Akintola University of Technology Ogbomoso
19 Bayero University Kano Kano
20 University of Jos Jos
21 University of Abuja Abuja
22 Babcock University Ilishan-Remo
23 Nile University of Nigeria Abuja
24 Federal University of Technology, Owerri Owerri
25 Pan-Atlantic University Lagos
26 Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka
27 Federal University, Oye-Ekiti Oye-Ekiti
28 Veritas University Abuja
29 Lagos State University Ojo
30 Baze University Abuja
31 University of Uyo Uyo
32 Federal University of Technology, Minna Minna
33 Usmanu Danfodio University Sokoto
34 Federal University, Lokoja Lokoja
35 African University of Science and Technology Abuja
36 Olabisi Onabanjo University Ago Iwoye
37 Ebonyi State University Abakaliki
38 Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti Ado-Ekiti
39 Redeemer’s University Ede
40 Federal University, Otuoke Otuoke
41 Benue State University Makurdi
42 Nasarawa State University Keffi
43 University of Calabar Calabar
44 Tai Solarin University of Education Ijebu-Ode
45 University of Maiduguri Maiduguri
46 Osun State University Oshogbo
47 Kwara State University Ilorin
48 Bowen University Iwo
49 Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Bauchi
50 Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University Katsina
51 Skyline University Nigeria Kano
52 Federal University, Dutsin-Ma Dutsin-Ma
53 Kaduna State University Kaduna
54 Abia State University Uturu
55 Delta State University, Abraka Abraka
56 Enugu State University of Science and Technology Enugu
57 Mountain Top University Makogi Oba
58 Federal University, Lafia Lafia
59 Michael Okpara University of Agriculture Umuahia
60 Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwo
61 Lead City University Ibadan
62 Cross River University of Technology Calabar
63 Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Uli
64 Akwa Ibom State University Ikot Akpad
65 University of Agriculture, Makurdi Makurdi
66 Godfrey Okoye University Ugwuomu-Nike
67 Federal University, Dutse Dutse
68 Edo University Iyamho
69 Al-Hikmah University Ilorin
70 Yusuf Maitama Sule University Kano Kano
71 Ambrose Alli University Ekpoma
72 Igbinedion University Okada Okada
73 Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun
74 Crawford University Faith City
75 University of Medical Sciences Ondo City
76 Imo State University Owerri
77 Niger Delta University Wilberforce Island
78 Bells University of Technology Ota
79 Benson Idahosa University Benin City
80 Kogi State University Anyigba
81 Adeleke University Ede
82 Ajayi Crowther University Oyo Town
83 Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University Lapai
84 Elizade University Ilara-Mokin
85 Southwestern University, Nigeria Okun Owa
86 Chrisland University Abeokuta
87 Caleb University Imota
88 Joseph Ayo Babalola University Ikeji-Arakeji
89 Bingham University Auta Balifi
90 Fountain University, Osogbo Oshogbo
91 Kola Daisi University Ibadan
92 Achievers University, Owo Owo
93 Yobe State University Damaturu
94 Kano University of Science and Technology Wudil
95 Federal University, Birnin Kebbi Birnin Kebbi
96 Anchor University, Lagos Lagos
97 The Technical University Ibadan
98 Oduduwa University Ile Ife
99 Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa
100 Bauchi State University Gadau …
101 Modibbo Adama University of Technology Yola
102 Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta Abeokuta
103 Kings University Odeomu
104 Sule Lamido University Kafin Hausa
105 Kebbi State University of Science and Technology Aliero
106 Ignatius Ajuru University of Education Port Harcourt
107 Caritas University Enugu
108 Crescent University, Abeokuta Abeokuta
109 Gombe State University Gombe
110 Al-Qalam University, Katsina Katsina
111 Federal University, Kashere Kashere
112 Madonna University, Nigeria Elele …
113 Sokoto State University Sokoto
114 Augustine University Ilara
115 Federal University, Gusau Gusau
116 Paul University Awka
117 Atiba University Oyo Town
118 Mcpherson University Seriki-Sotayo
119 Plateau State University Bokkos
120 Wesley University of Science and Technology Ondo City
121 Adamawa State University Mubi
122 Rhema University Aba
123 Novena University Ogume
124 Tansian University Umunya
125 Obong University Obong Ntak
126 University of Africa Toru-Orua
127 Federal University, Wukari Wukari
128 Michael and Cecilia Ibru University Agbara-Otor
129 Gregory University, Uturu Uturu
130 PAMO University of Medical Sciences Port-Harcourt
131 Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko Okerenghigho
132 University of Mkar Mkar
133 Admiralty University of Nigeria Ibusa …
134 Dominican University, Ibadan Ibadan
135 Wellspring University Benin City
136 Christopher University Mowe
137 Precious Cornerstone University Ibadan
138 Summit University Offa Offa
139 Salem University Lokoja
140 Glorious Vision University Ogwa
141 Renaissance University Enugu
142 Evangel University, Akaeze Enugu
143 Arthur Jarvis University Calabar
144 Coal City University Enugu
145 Eastern Palm University Ogboko
146 Spiritan University, Nneochi Umunneochi
147 Ritman University Ikot Ekpene
148 Hezekiah University Umudi
149 Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences Ijanikin
150 Western Delta University Oghara
151 Hallmark University, Ijebu-Itele Ijebu-Itele
152 Clifford University Ihie
153 Crown Hill University Ilorin
154 Legacy University, Okija Okija
155 Borno State University Maiduguri
156 Kwararafa University, Wukari Wukari
157 Federal University, Gashua Gashua
158 Edwin Clark University Kiagbodo
159 Gombe State University of Science and Technology Kumo
160 Zamfara State University Talata Mafara

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: