Bayern Munich win Club World Cup, matching Barcelona’s record as only club to win all six trophies in one season

Bayern Munich are now Club World Cup champions after beating Mexican side Tigres 1-0 on Thursday night, making history as the second team after Pep Guardiola’s Barcelona team to win a historic sextuple (six trophies in one year)

Bayern Munich win Club World Cup, matching BarcelonaBenjamin Pavard scored the only goal of the game and the Bundesliga giants are now undisputed champions of Germany, Europe and the World.

Bayern now have all six titles available to them – the Bundesliga, Champions League, Club World Cup, UEFA Super Cup, their national domestic cup (DFB-Pokal) and super cup (DFL-Supercup).

Bayern Munich win Club World Cup, matching BarcelonaBefore Bayern’s win on Thursday night, Barcelona were the only team ever to hold all six titles at the same time before.

Bayern Munich win Club World Cup, matching Barcelona

In 2009, Barcelona coached by Guardiola won La Liga, the Copa del Rey, Supercopa de Espana, Champions League, UEFA Super Cup and the Club World Cup.

Bayern manager Hansi Flick took over as interim boss in November 2019 following the sacking of Niko Kovac.

Since then, Flick has remarkably won more trophies (6) than he has lost competitive games (5).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: